Orbost Line

The Orbost Line was the main line through central Gippsland from Melbourne. The line was built in stages to Sale, then Bairnsdale and finally to Orbost in 1916.

The line served a number of functions; passengers and general freight as well as coal and briquettes from the La Trobe Vally and logs from East Gippsland. The line was electrified to Traralgon to serve the large amount of briquette traffic expected. Unfortunately this traffic never eventuated to the extent predicted and the overhead was decommisioned and removed between Warragul and Traralgon in 1987 and then between Warragul and Pakenham as part of the Regional Fast Rail Project in 2005.

The line between Bairnsdale and Orbost was closed in 1987 and the tracks were removed soon after. The track between Sale and Bairnsdale was also suspended in the mid 1990s following the ceasing of passenger services in 1993. However these tracks were not removed as log trains recommenced running to Bairnsdale in 1997 and passenger trains were resturned in 2003 after a 10 year absence.

The former right of way beyond Bairnsdale contained several spectacular timber trestle bridges and traversed some heavily forested land. This section is now used as a Rail Trail for pedestrians and cyclists.

Suburban train services run as far as Pakenham where the overhead now finishes. V/Line trains operate beyond Pakenham all the way through to Bairnsdale. The track between Pakenham and Traralgon was upgraded in 2005 as part of the Regional Fast Rail project. The only freight which currently operates on the line is paper trains to Maryvale near Morwell, log trains to Bairnsdale and cement trains to Westall. Intermodal traffic was lost following the suspension of the Gippsland Intermodal Freight Terminal siding in Morwell.


South Yarra Station

Hawksburn Station

Toorak Station

Armadale Station

Malvern Station

Caulfield Station

Carnegie Station

Murrumbeena Station

Hughesdale Station

Oakleigh Station

Huntingdale Station

Clayton Station

Westall Station

Springvale Station

Sandown_Park Station

Noble_Park Station

Yarraman Station

Dandenong Station

General Motors Station

Hallam Station

Narre Warren Station

Berwick Station

Beaconsfield Station

Officer Station

Pakenham Station

Nar Nar Goon Station

Tynong Station

Garfield Station

Bunyip Station

Longwarry Station

Drouin Station

Warragul Station

Yarragon Station

Trafalgar Station

Moe Station

Morwell Station

Traralgon Station

Rosedale Station

Sale Station

Stratford Station

Munro Station

Fernbank Station

Lindenow Station

Hillside Station

Bairnsdale Station

Nicholson Station

Bumberrah Station

Mossiface Station

Bruthen Station

Colquhoun Station

Nowa Nowa Station

Tostaree Station

Waygara Station

Orbost Station


Read more about: station and line
Secure FTPS on the planet Go FTP FREE Software