Serviceton Line

The Serviceton Line forms part of the main line between Mebourne and Adelaide. This line was originally constructed as a broad gauge line, however in 1995 the section between Ararat and Adelaide was converted to Standard gauge. As a result, it is no longer possible to run trains between Melbourne and Adelaide via Ballarat. Instead trains use the line between Ararat and Melbourne via Maroona and Gheringhap which was converted to Standard gauge.

The Overland passenger train operated by GSR runs 3 times per week between Melbourne and Adelaide stopping only at Ararat, Horsham and Dimboola on the Serviceton line within Victoria. V/Line services to Dimboola were withdrawn in 1993 and since the rationalisation of stops on the Overland Service it is no longer possible to catch a train to such places as Murtoa or Stawell.

The V/Line service was originally withdrawn as far as Ballarat, but after an absence of over 10 years V/Line services were restored between Ballarat and Ararat in 2004 with an intermediate stop returning at Beaufort. Between Ararat and Melbourne the line is still Broad Gauge with the section between Ballarat and Ararat restored for the return of passenger services and the section between Ballarat and Sunshine upgraded as part of the Regional Fast Rail project.


Ardeer Station

Deer Park Station

Rockbank Station

Melton Station

Parwan Station

Bacchus Marsh Station

Rowsley Station

Ingliston Station

Ballan Station

Bradshaw Station

Gordon Station

Millbrook Station

Wallace Station

Bungaree Station

Dunnstown Station

Warrenheip Station

Ballarat East Station

Ballarat Station

Wendouree Station

Burrumbeet Station

Trawalla Station

Beaufort Station

Buangor Station

Ararat Station

Great Western Station

Stawell Station

Glenorchy Station

Lubeck Station

Murtoa Station

Horsham Station

Dimboola Station

Nhill Station

Kaniva Station

Serviceton Station


Check here for station and related to line
Fastest SFTP, FTP and FTPS Client on the Planet, GoFTP FREE